WASHINGTON FRANCHISE LAWS
Franchise Registration in Washington. The Washington Franchise Investment Protection Act provides: “It is unlawful for any franchisor or subfranchisor to sell or offer to sell any franchise in this state unless the offer of the franchise has been registered under this chapter or exempted . . . .” Revised Code of Washington Section 19.100.020(1).
The initial franchise registration filing fee is $600. Each annual renewal filing fee is $100. The Washington state franchise regulator’s web site is here.
Business Opportunity Exemption Registration in Washington. There is no state business opportunity exemption registration required for franchises in Washington.
Franchise Disclosure in Washington. The Washington Franchise Investment Protection Act requires pre-sale disclosures to prospective franchisees similar to the requirements under the FTC Franchise Rule. Revised Code of Washington Section 19.100.080(1).
Franchise Relationship Law in Washington. The Washington Franchise Investment Protection Act includes restrictions and requirements regarding good faith, free association, purchasing restrictions, discrimination, pricing, benefits from third parties, exclusive territory, waiver, performance standards, inventory repurchase, and termination. Revised Code of Washington Section 19.100.180.
Please see important information about US federal and state franchise laws here.
We work with start-up and existing franchisors throughout the United States (and internationally). We would be delighted to discuss Washington franchise law with you. Please contact us for a free initial consultation about your particular situation.
Vinson Franchise Law Firm
Vinson Law Firm PC