VIRGINIA FRANCHISE LAWS
Franchise Registration in Virginia. The Virginia Retail Franchising Act provides: “It shall be unlawful for any person to sell or offer to sell a franchise in this Commonwealth unless the franchise is registered under the provisions of this chapter or exempted . . . .” Code of Virginia Section 13.1-560.
The initial franchise registration filing fee is $500. Each annual renewal filing fee is $250. The Virginia state franchise regulator’s web site is here.
Business Opportunity Exemption Registration in Virginia. There is no state business opportunity exemption registration required for franchises in Virginia.
Franchise Disclosure in Virginia. The Virginia Retail Franchising Act requires pre-sale disclosures to prospective franchisees similar to the requirements under the FTC Franchise Rule. Code of Virginia Section 13.1-563(4).
Franchise Relationship Law in Virginia. The Virginia Retail Franchising Act includes restrictions and requirements regarding termination and undue influence. Code of Virginia Section 13.1-564.
Please see important information about US federal and state franchise laws here.
We work with start-up and existing franchisors throughout the United States (and internationally). We would be delighted to discuss Virginia franchise law with you. Please contact us for a free initial consultation about your particular situation.
Vinson Franchise Law Firm
Vinson Law Firm PC