SOUTH DAKOTA FRANCHISE LAWS
Franchise Registration in South Dakota. The South Dakota franchise investment law provides: “It is unlawful for any person to offer or sell a franchise in this state unless the franchise has properly notice filed under this chapter or is exempt . . . . “ South Dakota Codified Law Section 37-5B-4.
The initial franchise registration filing fee is $250. Each annual renewal filing fee is $150. The South Dakota franchise regulator’s web site is here.
Business Opportunity Exemption Registration in South Dakota. There is no state business opportunity exemption registration required for franchises in South Dakota.
Franchise Disclosure in South Dakota. The South Dakota franchise investment law requires pre-sale disclosures to prospective franchisees similar to the requirements under the FTC Franchise Rule. South Dakota Codified Law Section 37-5B-17.
Franchise Relationship Law in South Dakota. South Dakota has no state franchise relationship laws for business format franchises.
Please see important information about US federal and state franchise laws here.
We work with start-up and existing franchisors throughout the United States (and internationally). We would be delighted to discuss South Dakota franchise law with you. Please contact us for a free initial consultation about your particular situation.
Vinson Franchise Law Firm
Vinson Law Firm PC