RHODE ISLAND FRANCHISE LAWS
Franchise Registration in Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Franchise Investment Act provides: “It is unlawful for any person to offer or sell a franchise unless the offer is registered under this act or is exempt . . . .” Rhode Island General Laws Section 19-28.1-5.
The initial franchise registration filing fee is $600. Each annual renewal filing fee is $300. The Rhode Island state franchise regulator’s web site is here.
Business Opportunity Exemption Registration in Rhode Island. There is no state business opportunity exemption registration required for franchises in Rhode Island.
Franchise Disclosure in Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Franchise Investment Act requires pre-sale disclosures to prospective franchisees similar to the requirements under the FTC Franchise Rule. Rhode Island General Laws Section 19-28.1-8.
Franchise Relationship Law in Rhode Island. The Rhode Island Franchise Investment Act includes restrictions and requirements regarding jurisdiction, venue, waiver, and free association.
Please see important information about US federal and state franchise laws here.
We work with start-up and existing franchisors throughout the United States (and internationally). We would be delighted to discuss Rhode Island franchise law with you. Please contact us for a free initial consultation about your particular situation.
Vinson Franchise Law Firm
Vinson Law Firm PC