NORTH DAKOTA FRANCHISE LAWS
Franchise Registration in North Dakota. The North Dakota Franchise Investment Law provides: “It is unlawful for any person to offer or sell any franchise in this state unless the offer of the franchise has been registered under this chapter or exempted . . . .” North Dakota Century Code Section 51-19-03.
The initial franchise registration filing fee is $250. Each annual renewal filing fee is $100. The North Dakota state franchise regulator’s web site is here.
Business Opportunity Exemption Registration in North Dakota. There is no state business opportunity exemption registration required for franchises in North Dakota.
Franchise Disclosure in North Dakota. The North Dakota Franchise Investment Law requires pre-sale disclosures to prospective franchisees similar to the requirements under the FTC Franchise Rule. North Dakota Century Code Sections 51-19-06 and 51-19-08(6).
Franchise Relationship Law in North Dakota. The North Dakota Franchise Investment Law includes restrictions and requirements regarding limitations and waiver. North Dakota Century Code Sections 51-19-12(5) and 51-19-16(7).
We work with start-up and existing franchisors throughout the United States (and internationally). We would be delighted to discuss North Dakota franchise law with you. Please contact us for a free initial consultation about your particular situation.
Vinson Franchise Law Firm
Vinson Law Firm PC