MINNESOTA FRANCHISE LAWS
Franchise Registration in Minnesota. Minnesota franchise law provides: “No person may offer or sell any franchise in this state unless there is an effective registration statement on file in accordance with the provisions of sections 80C.01 to 80C.22 or unless the franchise or transaction is exempted under section 80C.03.” Minnesota Statutes Commercial Regulations Section 80C.02.
The initial franchise registration filing fee is $400. Each annual renewal filing fee is $200. The Minnesota state franchise regulator’s web site is here.
Business Opportunity Exemption Registration in Minnesota. There is no state business opportunity exemption registration required for franchises in Minnesota.
Franchise Disclosure in Minnesota. Minnesota franchise law requires pre-sale disclosures to prospective franchisees similar to the requirements under the FTC Franchise Rule. Minnesota Statutes Commercial Regulations Sections 80C.04 and 80C.06.
Franchise Relationship Law in Minnesota. Minnesota franchise law includes restrictions and requirements regarding termination, non-renewal, franchisee transfers and waivers. Minnesota Statutes Commercial Regulations Sections 80C.14 and 80C.21.
Please see important information about US federal and state franchise laws here.
We work with start-up and existing franchisors throughout the United States (and internationally). We would be delighted to discuss Minnesota franchise law with you. Please contact us for a free initial consultation about your particular situation.
Vinson Franchise Law Firm
Vinson Law Firm PC