MICHIGAN FRANCHISE LAWS
Franchise Registration in Michigan. The Michigan Franchise Investment Law requires that “Prior to offering for sale or selling a franchise in this state, a person annually shall file a notice with the department along with the fee required in section 40.” Michigan Compiled Laws Section 445.1507a(1).
The initial franchise registration filing fee is $250. Each annual renewal filing fee is $250. The Michigan state franchise regulator's web site is here.
Business Opportunity Exemption Registration in Michigan. There is no state business opportunity exemption registration required for franchises in Michigan.
Franchise Disclosure in Michigan. The Michigan Franchise Investment Law requires pre-sale disclosures to prospective franchisees similar to the requirements under the FTC Franchise Rule. Michigan Compiled Laws Section 445.1508.
Franchise Relationship Law in Michigan. The Michigan Franchise Investment Law includes restrictions and requirements regarding franchisee associations, waiver, termination, non-renewal, venue, franchisee transfers, purchase of assets, and franchisor transfers. Michigan Compiled Laws Section 445.1527.
Please see important information about US federal and state franchise laws here.
We work with start-up and existing franchisors throughout the United States (and internationally). We would be delighted to discuss Michigan franchise law with you. Please contact us for a free initial consultation about your particular situation.
Vinson Franchise Law Firm
Vinson Law Firm PC