MARYLAND FRANCHISE LAWS
Franchise Registration in Maryland. Unless subject to an exemption, “a person must register the offer of a franchise with the Commissioner before the person offers to sell, through advertisement or otherwise, or sells the franchise in the State.” Maryland Business Regulation Code Sections 14-214(a) and 14-228(a).
The initial franchise registration filing fee is $500. Each annual renewal filing fee is $250. The Maryland state franchise regulator's web site is here.
Business Opportunity Exemption Registration in Maryland. There is an exemption under Maryland business opportunity law for the offer or sale of a franchise registered or exempt under the Maryland Franchise Registration and Disclosure Law. Maryland Business Regulation Code Section 14-104(a)(3).
Franchise Disclosure in Maryland. The Maryland Franchise Registration and Disclosure Law requires pre-sale disclosures to prospective franchisees similar to the requirements under the FTC Franchise Rule. Maryland Business Regulation Code Sections 14-216 and 14-223.
Regulations in Maryland require the disclosure of additional information regarding advertising fees and expenditures, franchisee bankruptcy, financial statements and other matters. COMAR Sections 02.02.08.04 and 02.02.08.16.
Franchise Relationship Law in Maryland. The Maryland Franchise Registration and Disclosure Law includes restrictions and requirements regarding waiver. Maryland Business Regulation Code Section 14-226.
Please see important information about US federal and state franchise laws here.
We work with start-up and existing franchisors throughout the United States (and internationally). We would be delighted to discuss Maryland franchise law with you. Please contact us for a free initial consultation about your particular situation.
Vinson Franchise Law Firm
Vinson Law Firm PC