ILLINOIS FRANCHISE LAWS
Franchise Registration in Illinois. The Illinois Franchise Disclosure Act of 1987 provides that “it is unlawful for any person to offer or sell any franchise required to be registered under this Act unless the franchise has been registered under this Act or is exempt under this Act . . . . .” 815 Illinois Compiled Statutes Section 705/5(1).
The initial franchise registration filing fee in Illinois is $500. Each annual renewal filing fee in Illinois is $100. The Illinois state franchise regulator's web site is here.
Business Opportunity Exemption Registration in Illinois. There is no state business opportunity exemption registration required for franchises in Illinois. Illinois business opportunity law includes an exemption for franchises. 815 Illinois Compiled Statutes Section 602/5-5.10(b)(3).
Franchise Disclosure in Illinois. The Illinois Franchise Disclosure Act of 1987 requires pre-sale disclosures to prospective franchisees similar to the requirements under the FTC Franchise Rule. 815 Illinois Compiled Statutes Sections 705/5(2) & 705/16.
Franchise Relationship Law in Illinois. Illinois franchise relationship law includes restrictions and requirements for free association, discrimination, termination, non-renewal, limitations and waivers. 815 Illinois Compiled Statutes Sections 705/17 - 705/44.
Please see important information about US federal and state franchise laws here.
We work with start-up and existing franchisors throughout the United States (and internationally). We would be delighted to discuss Illinois franchise law with you. Please contact us for a free initial consultation about your particular situation.
Vinson Franchise Law Firm
Vinson Law Firm PC