HAWAII FRANCHISE LAWS
Franchise Registration in Hawaii. The Hawaii Franchise Investment Law provides that “there shall be filed with the director a copy of the offering circular . . . at least seven days prior to the sale of a franchise.” Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 482E-3(c).
The initial franchise registration filing fee is $250. Each annual renewal filing fee is $250. The Hawaii state franchise regulator's web site is here.
Business Opportunity Exemption Registration in Hawaii. There is no state business opportunity exemption registration required for franchises in Hawaii.
Franchise Disclosure in Hawaii. The Hawaii Franchise Investment Law requires pre-sale disclosures to prospective franchisees similar to the requirements under the FTC Franchise Rule. Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 482E-3.
Franchise Relationship Law in Hawaii. Hawaii franchise law includes restrictions and requirements for good faith, free association, supply restrictions, discrimination, kickbacks, encroachment, waiver, unreasonable or arbitrary standards of conduct, termination, non-renewal, transfers, repurchase of inventory, supplies, equipment and furnishings, and damages. Hawaii Revised Statutes Section 4832E-6.
Please see important information about US federal and state franchise laws here.
We work with start-up and existing franchisors throughout the United States (and internationally). We would be delighted to discuss Hawaii franchise law with you. Please contact us for a free initial consultation about your particular situation.
Vinson Franchise Law Firm
Vinson Law Firm PC